Skip to navigation Skip to main content

The Château

According to legend, Château Bayard was built by the four Aymon sons who were fleeing from Charlemagne’s anger.

The four brothers escaped on the back of the trusty Bayard horse, which then gave its name to the Chateau.

  • 1390

    It is in 1390 that Jean, the Earl of Namur’s son, acquires the Chateau, the tower and the lands of the Dhuys and the Bayard. After becoming Jean III, Earl of Namur, he bequeaths his assets in 1420 to his son, Philippe, and then, in 1421, sells the Namur earldom to the Duke of Burgundy. Ever since then, Philippe de Namur’s descendants have owned Château Bayard.

  • 1914

    The last Namur d’Elzée, vice-president of the Senate, and his wife, Marie de Saint-Mauris, finished the “modernization” of the chateau and the stable block in the 19th century. On the death of Marie in 1914, the estate was left to a nephew, the Earl de Brouchoven de Bergeyck.

  • 1995

    Since the 6th of May 1995, Château Bayard has hosted seminars, meetings, weddings and receptions. In recent months, numerous changes and improvements have been made to enhance all that the Chateau can offer.

Explore the inside of the Château

Explore the interior of Chateau Bayard and its fabulous facilitates with a virtual tour. Follow the link below or see the photos.

Start virtual visit

The Great Hall

This Great Hall “à l’italienne” was designed in the middle of the 19th century. In recent years, it has resumed its function as a ballroom.

The Great Living Room

Its Napoleon III decor, recently modernised, is the setting for a gallery of portraits of the former owners of the Castle in the 17th and 18th centuries.

The Four Seasons Living Room

On the walls you will find portraits of Henri-Claude de Namur, viscount of Elzée and Duy, and his wife, Isabelle de Haultepenne. They completely refitted the Castle at the end of the 18th century.

The Arts Living Room

This intimate and warm room is remarkable for its floor and ceiling. The Moretti brothers’ stuccoes, signed and dated from 1780, represent the arts, the sciences, music and agronomy.

The Orangery

Adjacent to the Four Seasons Living Room and the Arts Living Room, the Orangery is a new space with room for 220 seated dining guests. It enchants all those lucky enough to use it with wonderful memories of time spent on the banks of the lake

See the pictures

The Bar

The Bar is located in the former dining room.

The Washrooms

Women's toilets: 4 toilets and 3 sinks
Men's toilets: 4 toilets and 2 sinks
Toilet for people with reduced mobility.

The Library

In a quiet spot, the library allows you to immerse yourself in the history of the family by looking through the archives.